Disney Decendants, Doll Hair, Licca Castle, WordPress Issues

You can’t really talk about the Disney Decendant dolls without comparing them to EAH. It’s not even so much the theme, since “child of famous character” has been a popular idea forever. It’s more the combination of a huge head with a skinny, articulated body AND the story idea.
And then there’s Audrey.  Medium skintone, brown eyes and hair with pink as her main color. Sleeping Beauty’s kid. That’s a little too close to Briar Beauty, says I. If they had swapped her with Ben and made her Belle’s daughter, it could have been avoided. Even going with blue or purple for the outfit and ditching the pink hair streak would have helped.

Jane…I probably would have guessed was a “Jane Jr.” or “Little Jane”. She’s the Fairy Godmother’s daughter but I think she looks like Tarzan’s eventual wife.

Carlos….is Heath. Just everything about him makes me think of a recolored Heath Burns. Little disapointed to see the molded finger-less gloves since it would reduce his versatility as a body donor.

No doll shown but, apparently they have given Jafar a son named Jayden. When did JAFAR have time to make a baby?? Did he have someone on the side when he was trying to get with Jasmine? (Though, hell, apparently he had a twin sister I hadn’t heard of, so I can’t say I’m up to date on Jafar’s biz)

I. HATE. LOT COLOR. DIFFERENCES. The current batch of Water Nixie nylon that Dolly Hair has is greyer than previous. It worked out perfectly for a project but now I’d like to have the previous, brighter blue for something and there’s no guarantee it will reappear.
Though, I supose if I want to be POSITIVE about it, we may end up with BOTH available,like with Lucky/Unlucky Clover and Old/regular Bubblegum.

It feels to me like the nylon supply is less stable than the saran supply. Like most of the saran colors never really become long-term unavailable or change but nylon does. Maybe this is the price we pay for the much larger collection of colors nylon comes in?

Today, I was thinking about how, if I had a neverending pile of money, I’d call up Tina of DH and Kathy of Restore Doll and be like “How much for one of everything? Yeah. One of everything. Just to have ready in case I need it.”

It’s kind of hard to figure out what the cost of a full, basic color palette from RH would be, because some of the colors are actually blends. They do have a sample pack with the blends included for $324.83.

On DH, 131 shades of nylon are listed. If they all came back into stock at once, you could get a MLP hank of each for $408.72 USD. If you ordered right now, you could get the 106 in stock for $330.72.

56 shades of regular saran in the RD hank size would be $140 and shipping. For the 50 colors in stock, it would be $125. If you wanted enough of each to actually do Barbie-sized heads, they do a 100 RD skein special for $215.

The thermal saran colors cost more and the 4 colors would be $15.48.
(Why post this? *shrug* Maybe other people have had similar day dreams and are curious? A little bit of trivia for you. Shipping not included in the totals, BTW)

I visited the Licca Castle shop site for the first time in a while, trying to decide on a hair style for the Ren I’m rerooting. I had no idea they did Licca Castle Angel Garden Jenny and Friend dolls! I thought that line was long dead. But…guys…where’s Lilian? She’s much cuter than Felice! (To me, anyway.)

On the Licca front, there’s a lot of the standard stuff but, then, there’s:
Babylonia Model, with golden streaks in her dark hair.
Galum Model, sporting a hair-bow-made-of-hair that I associate with Lady Gaga, even though I shouldn’t.
Mizushima Model, with pink and blond up front and long pink braids in the back.
QP Model, with blond in the front and pale pink curls in the back.
2014 Birthday Edition Model, with her curly blond poof in the front.
Apart from that last one, the dolls are part of a 20th aniversery celebration for the castle! I wondered why there was an adult man doll near the end of the listing but it’s Licca’s paternal grandfather, Albert. Is that ‘stache painted? I could have sworn the old ones had rooted facial hair.

Oh, that Licca! She’s awful cute but wouldn’t she be better if she rode a unicycle? Yep. It’s a legit accessory set.
It actually got me thinking about how different Licca and her market are from Barbie and hers. Licca’s, what, 10? She is part of a big family with 4 sisters, 1 brother, parents who not only exist but have NAMES, cousins and 3 out of 4 grandparents. She does a bit of glam but the home life is really played up.

Midge’s Happy Family line died out and most kids didn’t seem to really get excited over grandparent dolls.

I like to write my entries in Notepad, include most of the HTML, then paste them in to the HTML box. But….it’s like WordPress is ignoring the fact that I just want to put it in as HTML and makes HTML mode into a psuedo-Visual mode. I spent extra time going back and fixing all the extra line breaks it added in and I really shouldn’t have to. I wonder what’s going on…

Leave a Reply

