New Toys At Walmart! Hooray!, Dream, DGRequiem Sizes

YASSS. One of the local Walmart is finally getting new stuff in. Most of the new stuff. (The other one seems to still be trying to sell off the old stock to make room)

Gooliope is HUGE. I don’t know, I just pictured her smaller. And I pictured the Frightmares a bit larger.

The new Bratz were in. I want some of the clothing sets but they are $10 CAD and I think the shoes might be even bigger than the original ones. I…don’t think I have a use for shoes that large. If they were more like the ones before the hiatus, I could use them as almost-in-scale shoe-feet for bigger dolls. Maybe I could get them on sale for a few bucks less? I want that stripey one!

The Disney Descendants were there. Didn’t look really closely. I should be trying to evaluate them on their own merits, rather than a source of sweet, sweet bodies.

My Little Pony. They had the new EQG dolls, which I barely looked at because they also had the Friendship is Magic Collection.
(That’s a super generic real name for the Apple family-centric series. They should have called it “Family is Magic”)

A lot of the selection was picked over but they did have the Apple Bloom and Babs set, The SECS6000, the juice stand and the barn. I want the barn but it’s a lot more expensive and I still have to figure out where I would store it. Did grab the juice stand and AB with Babs. Sweetie…Babs. I don’t get it. Why would they have to rename the character “Sweetie Babs” for the toy? “Babs Seed” is unusual enough to be copyrighted. Whatever, she’s still adorable as hell, whatever Hasbro calls her.

I had a doll related dream a week or so ago. We were cleaning up the house for a move and Is sorting junk I hadn’t seen in years.
Some of the things I found in the dream were:
* A couple 1 1/2″ dolls. One was Anne from Akage no Anne, that had a button in back that played music. Cha Cha from Akazukin Chacha. And similarly sized doll with multiple heads.
* A watermelon-headed Quint-type doll with a button in back to make the head light up.
* A bunch of BigEye Skippers.

Analysis: I have been trying to sort through my junk and the idea of finding treasures while cleaning or shopping in a thrift store is a common theme in my dreams. Finding something you forgot you had is like thrifting except FOR FREE! 😀 I have also been looking at sites with vintage Japanese dolls, including one that had an Akazukin Chacha doll. I watched Akage no Anne dubbed in French as a kid and I think the watermelon child may have been inspired by Steven Universe. I also responded to a most on Tumblr about the BigEye Skippers recently and how I had one when I was little. (Must finish that reroot…)

Hadn’t noticed before but DGRequiem had to switch over to “code words” for their doll patterns to avoid running afoul of Mattel. The boy sizes are “Large” for Ken, “Medium” for EAH and “Slimline” for MH. Barbie is a “Medium Fashion Doll”, Blythe is “Petite” and MH/EAH girls are “Petite Slimline”.

Leave a Reply

