#TheDollEvolves, MLP

I was excited about the new Barbie bodies. The articulation looked pretty basic, but the new molds were exciting enough for that not to matter. I just wouldn’t buy as many and I’d avoid the ones with preposed arms.

Then I found out that Mattel had stopped doing click-knees years ago, so the new dolls can only sit like baby dolls. Arrrgh.

I have gotten to a point in my collecting where I have to be choosy-er and ask “Yeah, but what will I DO with it?” Less-articulated dolls have been recieving upgrades of either MtM bodies or Fashionistas. These new Barbies are a step forward in shapes and skintones but a step backwards for articulation.

Petite and Tall? I’d buy my favorites from the line with at least click-knees. I am less interessted in them than Curvy because you can already get dolls taller and shorter than a standard Barbie.

More articulated versions won’t either won’t happen or won’t happen without people buying these ones. I originally said I wouldn’t be buying them for anything other than holiday donations, but…I wonder….is there is any easy way to articulate a Curvy?

Could you cut the joints off an articulated figure, cut the corosponding areas off the Curvy and graft the joints on to the Curvy? If Barbie-sized joints are too small, maybe a male figure?

….Not that they are in stock in the local stores yet, though.

Walmart had the ribbon head-band MLP brushables in, just no Starlight Glimmer. I only saw ONE SG from the ribbon line before it. It’s weird.
I have managed to score more or less all the Pinky-themed minis I wanted, though 😀 (Just the Cakes and Maud, really.)

…Oh yeah! The MLP stuff they displayed at Toy Fair!
I’ll probably partake of some of the Nightmare Night minis. The Guardians of Harmony…eee…I like the idea of Big Spike, but he’s kind of pricey. I like the little armored Spike, but he is only sold with Chrysalis-On-Wheels. The toys I am REALLY interessted? The pearly brushables.
I think the pearly finish looks pretty and sets the Mane Six apart from their other releases. It’s such a basic thing, something the 80’s toys did and the first G3s kind of had as a default. That, and they did the Crystal Empire thing way back…it’s weird that they are only doing pearly ponies now.

(AND! The line has a bunch of new characters! *_* Woo!)

Leave a Reply

